A year in the life.

Five years ago I was at my grandma’s house waiting for hurricane Katrina to hit and destroy my life.

A year ago I was rushed to the CCU at Morton Plant in Florida, where a whole team of doctors told me I was in diabetic ketoacidosis and had been diabetic unknowingly for quite a while. My mom was with me and remarked that the end of August just was not a good time of year for me. Ain’t that the truth?

Two months before I ended up in the hospital I ordered Chinese food which I couldn’t keep down. I attributed it to food poisoning and then ignored the constant vomiting, urination, and fatigue that would plague me until I got a much needed dose of insulin in the emergency room.

I was in the hospital for four days with nothing to do but think. I kept drawing similarities between the hurricane and being diagnosed as diabetic because both events were really life changing. I lost everything in the hurricane, everything I owned, my home, things I can never get back, and I’d lose it all over again to just be healthy. Hell, I’d go through it every year just to be healthy.

Right now I’m doing everything I can to live a healthier life. I’m eating a cleaner, healthier diet, and exercising every day. I see the results and every morning my fasting blood sugar gets a little lower and more consistently average. I actually have vivid dreams about living a life without five daily injections, but I have a long way to go and no guarantee that I’ll ever have that.

My grandfather, before he died, was diabetic and I saw him injecting insulin when I was a kid, but it never really struck me the way it should have. Seeing that should have been enough for me to make changes before it was too late. I didn’t make those changes and to this day it’s one of my biggest regrets. I can’t change the past, but hopefully I can help someone else make a change in their lives and in their children’s lives.

My mom cooked breakfast, lunch, and dinner everyday. I didn’t have fast food growing up, and I was still diabetic at the age of 27. I see parents today feeding their children fast food with disturbing regularity because it’s fast, cheap, and convenient. Everyday I see children rewarded for good behavior with mounds of ice cream, cakes, and candies.

You’re not feeding your children. You’re not rewarding your children. You’re killing your children and dooming them to this:

In the past year I’ve injected myself 1,825 times with 67,525 units of Humalog and Levemir.

Here’s what that amounts to:

I’m hoping McDonald’s seems a little less convenient now.

~ by What Adam Ate. on August 28, 2010.

5 Responses to “A year in the life.”

  1. I am so proud of you Adam

  2. Strong words and brave post. You are doing what’s best for you now and I hope it pays off in huge ways. I was thinking about you today when I saw some info on Katrina on the weather channel. I wish you well.

  3. Adam, keep up the fight, because as a fellow diabetic, I can tell you it’s a lifelong fight with many highs and lows, not just in your numbers, but your emotional well being. The most positive change in my life was going off shots and starting on an insulin pump. Although it’s not perfection, it’s the next best thing to a normal life for me. I have a son who was diagnosed as a diabetic last year. I only wish that he had the same determination you have to take charge of your life and learn to LIVE with diabetes, rather than die because of it.

  4. Thank you for sharing your story, my Mom has diabetes and just had to have her leg (2 inches below the knee) amputed due to an infection and subsequent gangrene, all due to diabetes. I am so happy to see you take control of your health, my Mom did not and it led to this.

    I too am changing the way I eat and live in order to avoid my Mom’s fate.

    I love your fanfics and wonderful work of art in which you express through your quilt work, you are much too talented to not have a long and wonderous life. You will be in my thoughts and good wishes always.

  5. Thank you for sharing this with ALL of us Adam! As I get older, I try so much harder to eat the right things to keep me and my hubby healthy. It’s a work in progress! 😉

Leave a Reply

 
